Birthday Love

Oops. I seem to have dropped the ball momentarily. I didn’t mean to miss, urm, four days in a row, it just happened. I shall blame my getting older celebrations, which started on Friday with a day-before-my-birthday chocolate cheesecake, complete with sparkler, from my friend Claudia, who came for tea.

This was followed by a whirlwind of eating, drinking and making merriment with all my loved ones who spoilt me rotten. It was that good, in fact, that I could completely sweep the impending 4-oh-oh out of my mind. At least until Sunday when, post-birthday, I saw forty candles flickering in the corner of my room. I closed my eyes and shook my head about and they were gone when I opened them again. I still have two years, for heaven’s sake!

Mostly, I spent the weekend feeling completely loved, and that makes me the luckiest girl on earth.

This entry was posted in Family & Such Creatures, Navel-Gazing & Storytelling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

