NaNoWriMo or NaNoEdiMo, Really

November starts on Friday. No-bloody-vember. Hell’s bells, how the time has flown this year! Last November, I was happily in the middle of the Karoo, being blissful (see here for the full story.) I also strung 50 000 words together to write a book, of sorts.

The year before, I was busy as a bee working, living, rushing here and there in the city. Somehow, amongst it all, I also strung 50 000 (different) words together to write a book, of sorts.

You see it’s NaNoWriMo, which stands for National Novel Writing Month, which happens worldwide every November. See http://www.nanowrimo.com, if you wanna. Basically, what it entails is simple: Write a 50 000 word novel in a month. This works out to 1 667 words a day. One just writes. No editing, no checking back. Missing a day gets tricky (then you need to write 3 334 words to catch up the next day), miss two days and it gets even more tough (5 001 words on day 3.) You get the idea.

This year, however, I fear that I just don’t have 50 000 words to string together into a story, so I’ve decided to alter it slightly and do NaNoEdiMo. I’ve decided that the story I wrote last year deserves a second look, a serious edit. Due to my complete lack of motivation terrible busy-ness with all manner of important things, I find it hard to make myself sit down and actually do it. I’ve been practicing by trying to blog regularly this month. The structure of NaNoWriMo will hopefully help. There is nothing as satisfying as watching the word count rise.

While I’m certain it’s never going to be the Next Great South African novel, perhaps I can just get it to some kind of readable state. I haven’t looked at it since I finished at the end of November last year. I have to admit I’m quite looking forward to seeing how it turned out.

And how it turns out after some ferocious editing.

Leave a Reply

